Lost in a Good Book

Thus far, in my grand total of 4 previous posts, I have expounded upon coffee (mostly). While I love and adore coffee (glugging back fourth cup of the day), my first love is and always will be books. However, I sometimes need to be reminded of this fact, especially after protracted series marathons (most recently “Battlestar Galactica”). Usually, all it takes is one well-written book to bring me back into the fold.

One such book was “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card. I’d heard that they were making it into a movie and decided to read the original before it was blighted by Hollywood. (Yes, I take issue with film adaptations. Yes, all of them. Yes, that includes Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. OK, How to Train Your Dragon was fantastic in film and in fact much better than the book, but that was the exception. Tangent over.) Anyway, it’s a truly fantastic book. One of those that, when you finish reading it, leaves you feeling like this:

Emotional traumaMost recently, I started reading “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak, and it’s also one of those that can just completely change your perception of life.

One of the things that defines a good book, to my mind, is good use of language and imagery. For instance, Terry Pratchett is one of my favourite  authors of all time (37 out of 40 Discworld novels line my bookshelf – go me!). His use of metaphor is unparalleled; for instance:

“Poets have tried to describe Ankh-Morpork. They have failed. Perhaps it’s the sheer zestful vitality of the place, or maybe it’s just that a city with a million inhabitants and no sewers is rather robust for poets, who prefer daffodils and no wonder. So let’s just say that Ankh-Morpork is as full of life as an old cheese on a hot day, as loud as a curse in a cathedral, as bright as an oil slick, as colourful as a bruise and as full of activity, industry, bustle and sheer exuberant busyness as a dead dog on a termite mound.”

What more can I say? Having just reread “Monstrous Regiment” and “I Shall Wear Midnight”, I am once again awed at theLongWar amazing scope of his vision and depth of his thought. And, of course, great big belly laughs are the best ab workout! I have also read “The Long Earth” and am looking forward to getting stuck into “The Long War”, too. And, as usual, the pile of interchangeable books beside my bed (and on my eBook reader) just gets higher and higher and higher.

And tempting sites like this just make my predicament worse!

2 thoughts on “Lost in a Good Book

  1. Until recently I thought I was the only Geek in the Upper Highway area. So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised to find another FEMALE fan of Pratchett in my neighbourhood! It’s been that kind of year. I think he is an underrated genius and the Discworld series is a beautiful legacy to leave the world once he’s gone. He’s created a whole wondrous universe as well as characters that you want to climb into the pages to visit with. That’s how I like my fiction and Pratchett rarely disappoints. You have wonderful taste in literature! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Road Less Travelled | Coffee & Compositions

Leave a Reply

